Aroostook League fall sports update

Published: Sep. 17, 2020 at 12:31 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Fort Fairfield, Maine (WAGM) -Tim Watt:"We are all staying within the Aroostook League. We have adjusted out schedules to try and stay as close as we can."

Soccer and other fall sports will look different this year. There will be few fans in attendance because of COVID 19 guidelines. The boys and girls teams will not be playing back to back games this year. On most schedule if the boys are at home the girls will play the same opponent on the road. Also they are limiting attendance at games this season. Due to the limit of 100 people at an event visiting teams will not be allowed to bring spectators and players on home teams will be allocated two tickets per home game.

Watt:" We are trying to do that with the crowds only being allowed to have 100 people including players, officials, and everyone else that needs to be at the game. We are going to give each player two passes that the parent or whoever has them will wear so it will be easy to identify. We are going to mark spots that allow social distancing."

Most of the schools have an eight game regular season schedule. The League is broken up into two divisions with the larger schools in division one and the smaller schools in division 2. The hope is that there will be a playoff in each division at the end of the season.

Watt:" We are hoping the weather allows us and the conditions allow us to continue to play possibly two more games to do a tournament to allow kids to have something to strive for at the end of the year."

Golf and Cross Country are tentatively scheduled to have State Championships this year.

Watt:" We are still going to try and hold our County championships and depending on how the state continues to proceed individual schools will be able to determine whether their kids will be able to go or not."

Here are how the Aroostook League divisions are broken up for the possible soccer playoffs.

Caribou, Presque Isle, Houlton, Fort Kent, Madawaska,Fort Fairfield, CAHS and Hodgdon are in Division A and Katahdin, SAHS,Ashland, Wisdom, Van Buren, Easton, East Grand, and Washburn are playing in Division B

Copyright 2020 WAGM. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News