Ranked Choice Voting in Maine

Mainers will once again be using ranked choice voting, here’s a refresher on how it works.
Published: Oct. 27, 2020 at 3:33 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Maine (WAGM) -

“Ranked choice voting is an opportunity for people to rank their candidates on a 1 through 6 choice. The first choice is usually your favorite, the one you’re looking for the candidate to win of course, and then you’d rank them accordingly from 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th.”

Angela Coulombe, Municipal Clerk for Fort Kent

Angela Coulombe is the Municipal clerk for For Kent, and she says on election night itself, town clerks report the first choice voters put down. If a candidate reaches 50% of the votes, they win outright, if they don’t reach the 50% threshold, ranked choice voting kicks in.

“If the President is not declared at that point, then the second, third, fourth and fifth selections start getting divided up to whomever candidates were chosen.”

Angela Coulombe, Municipal Clerk for Fort Kent

Coulombe says while you do have multiple choices to rank candidates, you don’t have to use all of them. Coulombe says ranked choice voting applies to the Presidential, US Senate and second congressional races this year. She says write-ins are also an option.

“They have to be officially declared write-ins for the state for them to count, so if you write in Mickey Mouse obviously that would not count.”

Angela Coulombe, Municipal Clerk for Fort Kent

Ranked choice voting this year will take place in at least 18 municipalities across the US, with places like New York aiming to use it in 2021 and Massachusetts voting on it this year.

Here is a list of all candidates for the ranked choice voting race:

U.S. Senate:

R Susan Collins (Incumbent)

D Sara Gideon

I Max Linn

I Lisa Savage


I Tiffany Bond

Facts Matter Ian Kenton Engelman

I Douglas Fogg

2nd Congressional District:

R Dale Crafts

D Jared Golden (Incumbent)


D Daniel Fowler

D Timothy Adam Hernandez

President and Vice President:

R Donald Trump (Incumbent President)

R Michael Pence (Incumbent Vice President)

D Joseph Biden (Presidential Candidate)

D Kamala Harris (Vice Presidential Candidate)

G Howard Hawkins (Presidential Candidate)

G Angela Walker (Vice Presidential Candidate)

L Jo Jorgensen (Presidential Candidate)

L Jeremy Cohen (Vice Presidential Candidate)

A Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente (Presidential Candidate)

A Darcy Richardson (Vice Presidential Candidate)


President Boddie (President Candidate)

Eric C. Stoneham (Vice Presidential Candidate)

I Mark Charles (Presidential Candidate)

Adrian Wallace (Vice Presidential Candidate)

Tom Hoefling (Presidential Candidate)

Andy Prior (Vice Presidential Candidate)

Dirigo Party M.D. Mitchell (Presidential Candidate)

Margaret Mary Bayliss (Vice Presidential Candidate)

I Kasey Wells (Presidential Candidate)

I Rachel Wells (Vice Presidential Candidate)

Copyright 2020 WAGM. All rights reserved.