Maine high school coaches competing for Most Valuable Coach

U.S. Cellular has announced the Top 50 nominees for its Most Valuable Coach program, and Maine coaches are among them. After thousands of nominations were submitted, these Top 50 coaches are now listed on

At the end of the program, the winning coach will receive a $50,000 donation to the charitable organization of their choosing or their high school athletic department, a trip to Orlando, Florida, and on-field recognition at the Under Armour High School All-America Game. Maine coaches in the Top 50 include, Heather Thompson from Narraguagus Junior/Senior High School, Luis Ayala from Foxcroft Academy in Dover-Foxcroft, Scott Lawyerson from Upper Kennebec Valley Memorial in Bingham, Mike McGraw from Lewiston High School in Lewiston, and James Danala from Mt. Abram High School in Salem Township.

U.S. Cellular’s Most Valuable Coach program honors high school coaches who lead by example, strengthen their teams and give back to their communities. The public can vote for their favorite coach among the Top 50 nominees between now and 11:59 a.m. CT on Oct. 9 at

The 15 coaches earning the most votes will advance to the final round of voting. U.S. Cellular will award each Final 15 coach’s school with $5,000, host a local celebratory event and create a short video that shares the coach’s story on

“We are truly inspired by the incredible stories that were shared throughout the nomination phase of the Most Valuable Coach program,” said Matt Kasper, director of sales for U.S. Cellular in New England. “Each of the Top 50 coaches deserves to be recognized for their contributions to not only their team, but their community. These individuals go beyond the game and lead by example. We encourage everyone in Harrington to vote for their favorite coach.”

Along with the online public voting, a panel of judges including Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Kurt Warner, will help to determine the Most Valuable Coach based on leadership qualities and the positive impact they have had on their community, school and players. The winning coach will be announced at noon CT on Nov. 20.